Low Key Split Portraits

For this photography project, I was assigned to take low key split portraits, using a light to illuminate a single side of a subject. I used my dog, Sulley for this project, who despite his incooperative behavior at first, ended up working well 🙂 I used a small battery-powered light to shine on one side of his face as I took photos. It was challenging to get the lighting correct so only half his face was lit. It was also difficult positioning him, as he is a dog. I discovered that I really enjoyed this project and may actually practice more on my own time. I was pleased with the ending results and edited all the photos in darktable. The colored set simply has adjusted saturation and contrast, while I used a monochrome effect after the fact for the B&W photos.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar