Pop Art Project

I was given the interesting assignment of creating a pop culture photograph piece and enjoyed the editing experience thoroughly. I used a photo of a phone because technology seems to be a very large part of pop culture today. I edited this piece in gimp using layers and filters, and also adjusted the color balance and tones/hues to make the image contrast more strongly. I first edited the initial photo in darktable before multiplying it and creating whatever you would call this. I was also required to answer these questions after picking a pop artist to go with them. I chose Andy Warhol.

1. What is Pop Art? – Pop art is a genre of art related to pop culture or popular beliefs that are held to be relevant and popular during a specific time.

2. Why is this artist’s work considered Pop Art? – Andy Warhol was a pop artist because his art was based on popular beliefs that were held relevant at the time and were accepted by the public of that time to be timely relevant.

 

3. Describe some of these artists’ work. Andy Warhol is an artist of simplicity and was relevant to pop culture and time when we created his art pieces. He created the piece: Campbell’s soup, which because of its blatantly, was assumed to the public to be pop art.

 

4. Why did you pick this artist and why do you like his/her work? – I picked this artist because he was the first one to come upon a google search, but I really enjoyed his art. I like his art because of its simplicity and utter blatantly. He simply created precise replicas of ordinary items, such as his Campbell’s soup painting that was done in 1968.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar